Why would you care what I think?

This blog is about music, something I’ve been thinking about for fifty years. I’m reluctant to include anything else here as I hate a bate and switch. But the urge to blog about drivel must be some primal thing that even I can’t resist.

I’m reading Philip Roth’s American Pastoral — a terrific book (so far) and, being terrific, it’s already, at page 35, given me thoughts.

I got the book for free. A bookstore chain I frequent added ten bucks to my account (and other frequenters’ accounts I assume) and then offered me (and the other frequenters) a one-third-off coupon. I went looking for a fifteen dollar book.

I had a list of seven, but the only one that came in at fifteen even was Philip Roth’s American Pastoral. I haven’t read Roth before. It’s turning out to be a rip-roaring good read, but thought provoking, too.

Look what he says on page 34:

. . . getting people right is not what living is all about anyway. It’s getting them wrong that’s living, getting them wrong and wrong and wrong and then, on careful reconsideration, getting them wrong again. That’s how we know we’re alive: we’re wrong. Maybe the best thing would be to forget about being right or wrong about people and just go along for the ride.

If that doesn’t hit you where you live, go read the book. In fact, go read the book anyway. If you haven’t already.

About ravishd

I'm sixty-six years old. I've been listening attentively to music since I was a teen. I've learned a lot from record jackets, jewel cases, and even some actual formal classes. I have cocked my ears for new music for at least forty year and amassed a library of Western, Indian, and Javanese classical music, folk, world and jazz. (Not much rock, not pop in general, but not because I don't love that music too.) I formed a compulsion to share some of this in the spirit of 'gee whiz, isn't this music amazingly great?' Thus this blog. I tweet as @ravishdears
This entry was posted in why should you care and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why would you care what I think?

  1. Aniko says:

    I do care what you think, despite the guarantee we have of getting each other wrong, and I would even if I hadn’t read American Pastoral (and a bunch of other things by Roth). The kind of thing you quote is exactly what I like about him.

Leave a Reply

