New music thrives

A few clicks around this blog will tell you I’m nuts about new music. I’m fortunate to have a cousin, Elisabeth Halliday, in the thick of it. She introduces me to stuff I might never hear otherwise. She is a soprano, and she sings with Rhymes with Opera, a chamber opera company dedicated to performing experimental vocal music. (RwO is two sopranos, a baritone, and two composers–how cool is it for an opera company to have its own composers? Two of them!)

Here’s something by RwO–Leads by Kathleen Bader:

That was performed by Robert Maril, baritone and cello; Elisabeth Halliday, soprano; Bonnie Lander, soprano and violin; Ruby Fulton, viola; George Lam, violin.

Last week RwO finished a tour in Boston a short bike ride from my house. (I would have gone even if it was a really really long bike ride. I would even have driven, and I hate driving.) They performed with the West End String Quartet, a terrific young ensemble. (Or maybe I should say a young terrific ensemble, since their youth was beside the point in their performance. They’re good.)

After my cousin’s stellar performance, the high point for me was a piece by one of RwO’s own composers, Ruby Fulton, being for the breakdown, played by the quartet. Here are two pieces by Ruby, THE END and The Walls are Taken Away, live at An Die Musik in Baltimore:

The performers here were Bonnie Lander, soprano; David Smooke, toy piano; Courtney Orlando, violin; Michael Shank, guitar; Rob Parrish, drums.

The toy pianist (not actually a TOY pianist–you know what I mean), David Smooke, is a professor at the Peabody Conservatory where many of these musicians studied. RwO performed his mini opera, Criminal Element, written in a language of his own devising, which I thought was terrific. The idea seemed to me a bit, well, ungrounded. But it worked. Here’s a piece  for piano, 10 hands by David Smooke:

That was h.àt. (homage à dr. teriwilliker), inspired by the evil deeds of Dr. Teriwilliker from “The 5,000 Fingers of Dr. T.” Performed at Mercyhurst College by (in order): Rachel Reszler, Mitchell Alpaugh, Shana Plunkett, Kelton Macke, Shirley Yoo. Under the direction of Shirley Yoo and the composer at Mercyhurst College.

RwO also sang a mini opera by their other composer, George Lam, called Someone Anyone, a ten minute suspense novel for two. Different and exciting.

Here’s an excerpt from Lam’s one-act opera The Persistence of Smoke.

The opera features mezzo-soprano Sandra Cotton and baritones Scott MacLeod and David Weigel. The libretto is by John Justice.

If you get a chance to see Rhymes with Opera or The West End String quartet grab it. But, in general, grab any opportunity to hear young musicians play new music. It’s always exciting and interesting and often beautiful and satisfying.

I’m experiencing a summer full of new music, so I’ll be blogging more frequently to share stuff I’m discovering and enjoying. Coming soon: Simon Cummings and Mamoru Fujieda.

About charles thiesen

I live in Dorchester, MA with five housemates and a cat named Chat Cousteau. I write novels and ride a recumbent bike, among other things.
This entry was posted in Classical, what I love. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to New music thrives

  1. Wow, incredible blog layout! How long have you
    been blogging for? you make blogging look
    easy. The overall look of your site is wonderful, let alone the content!

    • ravishd says:

      This is the kind of comment a blogger dreams of. Wow, thanks. I maintained this blog from Nov 2010 to July 2011–a good bit less than a year. Then ran out of things to say that excited me enough to post here. Maybe your comment will encourage me again.

      Before creating this blog, I didn’t blog at all, but I designed a few basic web sites for clients so I was comfortable with the WordPress software and with thinking about how to present this stuff. I’m grateful for your praise, but have seen a ton of better blogs, so I have some hope that my hat will continue to fit on my head.

      Thanks for the props.

  2. I would like to thank you for the efforts you have
    put in writing this website. I am hoping
    to check out the same high-grade content by
    you in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated me
    to get my very own site now ;)

  3. Mackenzie says:

    Hi colleagues, how is everything, and what
    you want to say about this post, in my view its genuinely
    awesome in support of me.

  4. I love what you guys are usually up too. This kind of clever work and coverage!
    Keep up the very good works guys I’ve incorporated you guys
    to my blogroll.

  5. Hi there everyone, it’s my first pay a quick visit at this site, and paragraph is in fact fruitful in support of me, keep
    up posting these types of content.

  6. Samara says:

    Helpful info. Lucky me I found your website unintentionally, and I am shocked
    why this coincidence didn’t came about earlier! I bookmarked it.

  7. Hello! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless I’d figured I’d ask.

    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe
    guest writing a blog post or vice-versa? My site goes over a lot of the
    same topics as yours and I think we could greatly benefit
    from each other. If you’re interested feel free to send me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Awesome blog by
    the way!

  8. Thank you for some other informative site. The place else
    may I am getting that type of info written in such a perfect means?

    I’ve a undertaking that I’m simply now working on, and I
    have been on the look out for such info.

  9. I have read so many articles or reviews on the topic of the blogger lovers but this article is in fact a nice post, keep it up.

  10. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your blog.
    You have some really good articles and I believe I would be a good asset.

    If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write some material
    for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please blast me an email if interested.
    Regards!

    • ravishd says:

      Hi, thanks very much for the offer. It’s true that I’m not keeping up with this blog as well as I’d like to, but it’s a very personal thing so I’m not interested in having others write for it. But thanks again.

Leave a Reply

